Ceph Foundation

The Ceph Foundation exists to enable industry members to collaborate and pool resources to support the Ceph project community. The Foundation provides an open, collaborative, and neutral home for project stakeholders to coordinate their development and community investments in the Ceph ecosystem.

The Ceph Foundation is organized as a directed fund under the Linux Foundation. Premier and General Member organizations contribute a yearly fee to become members. Associate members are educational institutions or government organizations and are invited to join at no cost.

For more information, see https://ceph.com/foundation.





Governing Board

The Governing Board consists of all Premier members, a representative for the General members, a representative for the Associate members, and a representative from the Ceph Leadership Team (the technical governance body). The board is responsible for:

  • Building and approving an annual budget for spending in support of the Ceph project

  • Establishing ad-hoc committees to address current needs of the project

  • Coordinating outreach or marketing

  • Meeting regularly to discuss Foundation activities, the status of the Ceph project, and overall project strategy

  • Voting on any decisions or matters before the board

The Ceph Foundation board is not responsible for and does not have any direct control over the technical governance of Ceph. Development and engineering activities are managed through traditional open source processes and are overseen by the Ceph Steering Committee. For more information see Governance.


  • Anjaneya “Reddy” Chagam (Intel)

  • Carlos Maltzahn (UCSC) - Associate member representative

  • Dan van der Ster (CERN) - Ceph Council representative

  • Haomai Wang (XSKY)

  • James Page (Canonical)

  • Joachim Kraftmayer (Clyso)

  • Josh Durgin (IBM) - Ceph Council representative

  • Matias Bjorling (Western Digital)

  • Matthew Leonard (Bloomberg)

  • Mike Perez (IBM) - Ceph community manager

  • Myoungwon Oh (Samsung Electronics)

  • Neha Ojha (IBM) - Ceph Council Representative

  • Steven Umbehocker (OSNexus) - General member representative

  • Pawel Sadowski (OVH)

  • Vincent Hsu (IBM)


For information about joining the Ceph Foundation, please contact membership@linuxfoundation.org.